Largest ever grid of SuperCup cars to star at Silverstone

2015 runner-up Johnathan Clements returns to the SuperCup fold at Silverstone. PIC: JON ELSEY

This weekend heralds a landmark for the BRSCC’s super successful series, as the UK's largest ever single grid of Mk3 Mazda MX-5 race cars descends on Silverstone's hallowed tarmac.

While they might not be taking to the full Grand Prix layout, the shorter National Circuit still takes in some of the most iconic real estate in the motor racing world. Just the mention of Copse, Maggotts, Becketts, Priory, Luffield and Woodcote is enough to stir the emotions of any true petrolhead.

As will the thought of 40 ultra competitive racers vying for victory, bumper-to-bumper and doorhandle-to-doorhandle, around the spiritual home of British motorsport.

The high speed straights and wide sweeps will do little to ease the tension for the capacity field, as the title hunt gathers pace.

Lincolnshire’s Rob Boston is undoubtedly the man in form. The former Mazda MX-5 Mk1, Mk3 and Lotus champion heads the points standings thanks to his four wins so far this term. It could have been five had it not been for a time penalty, which demoted him to second in the final race last time out at Cadwell Park and robbed him of a hat-trick.

Also present on the podium in two of those races was Luke Herbert, another man who is no stranger to success in an MX-5. His consistency has helped him move to second in the points table, 20 behind leader Boston, but a mere one point ahead of both Jack Harding and Tom Roche. Harding only reached the podium once at Cadwell standing on the final step, while Roche also took a third place as well as inheriting the win after Boston’s time penalty. On paper this quartet appear to be the main title contenders, but those in the know will say it’s much more complicated than that.

This season, the MX-5 SuperCup features levels of driving talent that have never been higher. Liam Murphy, Brian Chandler and Jonathan Greensmith have all had strong starts to the year with top 5 results. If any of the top four slip up, look for one of these three names to pounce quickly, in a bid for podiums. Also add in those who have been consistently racking up top 10 finishes like Mike Comber, Carl Garnett, Aidan Hills and Sam Tatler, and it’s sure to be a fast and furious high-speed express train on track.

Then there are those whose fortunes took something of a nosedive at Cadwell but by no means should be counted out. In particular, former multiple Porsche champion Richard Styrin and double BMW Compact Cup champion Steve Roberts. One key name missing from the Silverstone entry is James Blake-Baldwin, the reigning champion has been forced to withdraw due to technical issues.

Other drivers capable of causing an upset include Jake Bailey, Nick Dunn, Adam Bessell, Ben Short, Richard Wicklen and in an unexpected switch, 2015 SuperCup runner-up Johnathan “JJ” Clements who has decided that he’s better suited to the more contemporary Mk3 MX-5, after a less than ideal start to life back in Mk1s.

There’s also a competition within a competition, as the over 45s battle for their own prize. Heading into Silverstone, Garry Townsend has ensured a cool head and a consistent stream of points has helped him to top the Masters Series table ahead of Alec Livesley and Simon Fleet. But don’t rule out  Richard Styrin who will be looking to bounce back following Cadwell calamities.

But ultimately, the question on everyone’s lips is: Can anyone stop the Rob Boston Express?

Confirmed entry list

2                  Jonathan Greensmith                                                                       

3                  Liam Murphy                                                                       

7                  Alex Miller                                                                       

8                  Andy Coombs                                                                       

9                  Alec Livesley                                                                       

11                  Nathan Bell                                                                       

13                  Gregg Catton                                                                       

14                  Jake Bailey                                                                       

17                  Nicholas Dunn                                                                       

19                  Carl Garnett                                                                       

21                  Simon Fleet                                                                       

23                  Adam Bessell                                                                       

25                  Tom Roche                                                                       

26                  Duncan Harris                                                                       

27                  Jim Hart                                                                       

35                  Alex King                                                                       

36                  David Henderson                                                                       

41                  David Willoughby                                                                       

43                  Jack Harding                                                                       

44                  Darren Stapleton                                                                       

50                  Luke Herbert                                                                       

56                  Steve Roberts                                                                       

58                  Mike Comber                                                                       

66                  Sam Tatler                                                                       

67                  Simon Orange                                                                       

68                  Ben Short                                                                       

69                  George Grant                                                                       

71                  Geoff Gouriet                                                                       

76                  Richard Wicklen                                                                       

77                  Jeremy Crook                                                                       

80                  Aidan Hills                                                                       

81                  Johnathan (JJ) Clements                                                                       

85                  Ian McDonald                                                                       

88                  Colin Bysouth                                                                       

92                  Rob Boston                                                                       

93                  Aldo Riti                                                                       

96                  Michael Lawson                                                                       

100                  Mark Holme                                                                       

176                  Brian Chandler                                                                       

223                  Garry Townsend                 

Meeting timetable available to download HERE

Next Race

Silverstone (International) - 21st - 22nd Mar 2020

Last Race

There have been no races in 2020 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2020 yet.