Battle lines drawn as the SuperCup returns to Croft

After a year away the BRSCC SuperCup returns to Croft this weekend. Pic: JON ELSEY

The BRSCC’s Mazda MX-5 SuperCup has undoubtedly been one of the success stories of the 2017 club racing season. The championship has seen its popularity skyrocket with packed grids and close exciting racing the norm. This weekend sees 34 cars return to the awesome Croft circuit in North Yorkshire as the title battle continues to rage on.

At the head of the points table, battle lines have been drawn between former champion Luke Herbert and the ever present Tom Roche. The former will be hoping that his efforts will help him secure a second title after his first in 2012, while the latter is desperately working hard to ensure that elusive Mk3 title doesn’t escape him this time. The gap between the pair is only 14 points, which means that a result that doesn’t work out in either driver’s favour could be crucial to their title aspirations.

The pair’s nearest rival at the moment is Liam Murphy, a driver who has been a beacon of consistency this season. He’s picked up a podium at each of the last four meetings, along with constant top five finishes allowing him to bank a steady stream of points. While his gap to the top is less than 90 points, it only takes one slip from either driver in front of him to capitalise. There’s also a neat little fourth place scrap developing between Jonathan Greensmith and Jack Harding, with the pair merely separated by five points after dropped scores. Both have graced the podium several times this year too and as past race winners also, they both know what it takes to succeed.

The rest of the SuperCup top 10 is populated by drivers you would expect to be around the frontrunners, including former BRSCC MX-5 champion Brian Chandler. The popular Suffolk driver is still searching for that long awaited first visit to a SuperCup rostrum and he’ll be hoping that the circuit that saw him take a hat-trick of wins in Mk1s in 2015 is good to him once again. Don’t be surprised to see the likes of Sam Tatler, Carl Garnett and Aidan Hills mixing it with the favourites. These three drivers have shown good pace and made great progress throughout the year. Outside of the top ten, drivers such as Nick Dunn, Garry Townsend and Richard Wicklen are also names to watch out for as they can capitalise on any mistakes from the regular frontrunners. Plus, never count out reigning champion James Blake-Baldwin, whose title defence has been character-building at best but has still been able to find himself on the podium a couple of times this season, including a sensational drive to third place at Snetterton from the back of the grid. It was a true champion’s drive!

The majority of the regular runners in this year’s SuperCup are all out to play once again, plus a couple of new drivers are set to make their debuts in the championship. Former Mk1 race winner and 2016 Masters champion Simon Baldwin has taken the bold step into a Mk3 to test his mettle, while Porsche and Locost racer Nizar El-Chamaa has decided to give the SuperCup a try here at Croft.

To briefly mention the Masters contest, there’s a there’s a three-way battle in place between leader Garry Townsend, Alec Livesey and Simon Fleet with 27 points separating the three drivers. The Masters championship is an internal points table for our more experienced and mature drivers in the field, as they battle for supremacy and of course bragging rights!

Confirmed entry list                 

1                  James Blake-Baldwin                                                                       

2                  Jonathan Greensmith                                                                       

3                  Liam Murphy                                                                                                                                                                 

7                  Alex Miller                                                                       

9                  Alec Livesley (M)                                                                       

10                  William Sharpe  (M)                                                                       

11                  Nathan Bell                                                                       

14                  Jake Bailey                                                                       

16                  Simon Baldwin   (M)                                                                       

17                  Nicholas Dunn                                                                       

19                  Carl Garnett                                                                       

20                  Thomas Collins                                                                       

21                  Simon Fleet (M)                                                                       

25                  Tom Roche                                                                       

26                  Duncan Harris (M)                                                                       

27                  Jim Hart  (M)                                                                       

35                  Alex King                                                                       

43                  Jack Harding                                                                                                                                                                 

44                  Darren Stapleton                                                                       

50                  Luke Herbert                                                                                                                                               

53                  Steven Boyles / Ashley Boyles                                                                       

66                  Sam Tatler                                                                       

67                  Simon Orange  (M)                                                                                                                                               

69                  George Grant  (M)                                                                       

71                  Geoff Gouriet (M)                                                                       

76                  Richard Wicklen                                                                       

77                  Jeremy Crook  (M)                                                                       

80                  Aidan Hills                                                                       

85                  Ian McDonald  (M)                                                                                                                                                                 

88                  Colin Bysouth                                                                       

93                  John Stack  (M)                                                                       

176                  Brian Chandler                                                                       

223                  Garry Townsend  (M)                                                                                                                                                                 

246                  Nizar El-Chamaa                 

Next Race

Donington Park (National) - 19th - 20th Oct 2019

Last Race

Silverstone (National) 14th - 15th Sep 2019

Current Standings

Driver Accrued Points Adjusted Total
1 Luke Herbert 2076 1788
2 Jack Harding 2062 1778
3 Aidan Hills 1932 1748