Donington duel set to bring down curtain on stunning season - but who will walk away with the crown?

Donington Park plays host to the BRSCC MX-5 SuperCup season showdown. Pic JON ELSEY

If you want a dramatic set-up for a championship finale, then you need to look no further than the final three races of this season’s BRSCC Mazda MX-5 SuperCup. Just 60 minutes of racing remain, before the identity of the 2017 champion will be revealed.

A bumper entry of 37 drivers head to the iconic Donington Park circuit in Leicestershire this weekend for a titanic triple header, with the finely balanced outcome potentially being played out on the last corner of the last lap of the last race. A fight for glory which is now in the hands of just two men – 2012 title winner Luke Herbert and multiple Mk1 MX-5 champion Tom Roche. The former would love to add a second MX-5 championship to his his Michelin Clio Cup honours and holds a slender 13-point margin over his rival. Meanwhile, Roche must be hoping it will be third time lucky after coming agonisingly close to the SuperCup title in 2014 and 2016. Having missed out on both occasions, the Welshman will want to put right those wrongs and will do all he can to make it happen.

Behind them, there is an exciting three-way scrap to decide who will walk away with the final podium position in the standings. Currently, Liam Murphy holds firm in the position he took in 2015, while last year’s runner-up Jonathan Greensmith and Jack Harding will both be out to stop him. There are 36 points between them, but with Harding only 15 away from Murphy he looks to have the better chance on paper to steal it. But never count out former MX-5 MK1 and Porsche Boxster champion Greensmith as he’s able to pop up amongst the leaders when least expected!

For the rest of the top ten, it will be all about the close season bragging rights. 2015 Mk1 MX-5 champion Brian Chandler currently resides in sixth place in the standings will want to end his first full SuperCup year on a high and fend off the advances of the consisitent pairing of Sam Tatler and Carl Garnett.

Others will have ambitions to end their seasons on a positive note and be in the mix at the sharp end. Ben Short, Richard Wicklen and Nick Dunn have all shown flashes of pace at various points throughout the year - all hoping a solid haul of points comes their way before the end of the weekend.

Meanwhile, spare a thought for outgoing champion James Blake-Baldwin. Undeniably quick and still capable of turning in race-winning performances, it’s fair to say that he’s had a character building season defending his title. A champion’s drive at Snetterton to a third place followed by another last time out at Croft means that, when everything’s working, he still a force to be reckoned with. Expect him to want to leave his mark on a difficult season ahead of a fightback in 2018.

There are also ones to watch up and down the order with former Mk1 frontrunner Simon Baldwin making a significant impact on his SuperCup debut last time at Croft. He’ll want to build on his first three races in his new car, while others such as Tom Collins, Jake Bailey and Simon Goddard will hope for good fortunes.

There’s also the small matter of the Masters title to wrap up. Garry Townsend currently has one hand on the trophy but Alec Livesley and Simon Fleet are ready to pounce should the opportuntity present itself.

The 2017 MX-5 SuperCup season has been nothing short of simply sensational and here’s hoping it finishes with a flourish. It’s now or never for the title – Herbert or Roche. Who’s your money on?


Confirmed Entry List

1                    James Blake-Baldwin                                                                       

2                    Jonathan Greensmith                                                                       

3                    Liam Murphy  

7                    Alex Miller                                                                       

9                    Alec Livesley (M)                                                                       

10                  William Sharpe  (M)                                                                       

13                  Gregg Catton  (M)                                                                       

14                  Jake Bailey      (u-18)                                                                       

16                  Simon Baldwin   (M)                                                                       

17                  Nicholas Dunn                                                                       

19                  Carl Garnett                                                                       

20                  Thomas Collins                                                                       

21                  Simon Fleet (M)                                                                       

25                  Tom Roche                                                                       

26                  Duncan Harris (M)                                                                       

27                  Jim Hart  (M)                                                                       

35                  Alex King                                                                       

43                  Jack Harding

44                  Darren Stapleton                                                                       

46                  Simon Goddard (M)

50                  Luke Herbert

52                  Steve Dolman  (M)                                                                       

53                  Steven Boyles / Ashley Boyles

66                  Sam Tatler                                                                       

67                  Simon Orange  (M)  

68                  Ben Short  

69                  George Grant  (M)

71                  Geoff Gouriet (M)                                                                       

76                  Richard Wicklen                                                                       

77                  Jeremy Crook  (M)                                                                       

81                  Richard Breland (M)                                                                       

85                  Ian McDonald  (M)

93                  Aldo Riti  (M)                                                                       

118                Clive Powles   (M)                                                                       

176                Brian Chandler                                                                       

223                Garry Townsend  (M)

999                Patrick Collins  (M) 

(M) Masters Trophy competitor                


Meeting timetable available HERE

Next Race

Snetterton 300 - 10th - 11th Apr 2021

Last Race

There have been no races in 2021 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2021 yet.