Hat-trick hero Harding dominates Donington decider while Herbert pips Roche to SuperCup title

Luke Herbert (centre) secures the hard-fought 2017 BRSCC MX-5 SuperCup title from Tom Roche (left) and Donington triple race winner Jack Harding (right). Pic: JON ELSEY

Congratulations to Luke Herbert, who swept all before him to claim the 2017 BRSCC Mazda MX-5 SuperCup crown in what was arguably the championship’s most competitive season ever.

After a four-year absence the 27-year-old from Bognor Regis made a stunning return to the series, adding this year’s hard-fought title to the one he secured in 2012. That’s not to say that he had it all his own way as Welshman Tom Roche pushed him right down to the wire. Not for the first time multiple Mk1 MX-5 champion Roche found himself within touching distance of the title entering the final round, sitting a mere 13 points behind Herbert prior to the Donington decider.

However anyone backing the two championship protagonists for the final three race wins would be sorely disappointed. As again, again – and once again, Yorkshireman Jack Harding took the Leicestershire laurels. His trio of victories rewarded him with third place in the final standings following a titanic tussle with Liam Murphy and Jon Greensmith.

But despite Harding’s lights-to-flag dominance in Race 1, all eyes were fixed on the championship battle being played out in his wake as Herbert and Roche completed the podium.

The second exciting encounter saw Harding joined by two different podium pals in Murphy and Greensmith, with Roche taking the flag in fifth on that occasion while Herbert couldn’t better seventh.

With everything on the line heading into the last race, Harding completed his hat-trick, in a carbon copy of the Race 2 rostrum with Murphy and Greensmith. Roche claimed fourth, but it wasn't enough to stop Herbert becoming the well deserved champion.

There was a second title battle to be resolved too as the SuperCup Masters competition drew to a close in equally riveting fashion. Garry Townsend, Alec Livesley and Simon Fleet were all in with a chance of getting their hands on the coveted cup for the Over 45s but ultimately it was Rugby racer Townsend who won that honour.

The successful drivers will collect their silverware at the traditional end of season glitzy awards dinner, held on the first weekend of November.

2017 has been the most successful year in the championship’s history, in terms of driver numbers and level of competition with multiple former champions from a range of series peppering the starting grids at each event.

This season will be a tough act to follow but the majority of 63 registered drivers will head into the winter knowing the championship will be part of the support package for the new high profile TCR UK Championship next year. Who will join them for that challenge?

The final breakdown of results via TSL Timing can be found here – DONINGTON RESULTS

Alex Soar's detailed in-depth meeting report will be available shortly.



Next Race

Snetterton 300 - 10th - 11th Apr 2021

Last Race

There have been no races in 2021 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2021 yet.