Cadwell calling as SuperCup heads to 'Mini Nurburgring'

After a year away, the Mazda MX-5 SuperCup returns to Cadwell Park this weekend. Photo: JON ELSEY

No less than 34 competitors will descend on the picturesque Cadwell Park circuit this weekend for Rounds 4, 5 and 6 of what is shaping up to be one of the most competitive race series in the UK.

It’s safe to say that all of the hype, interest and excitement that built up ahead of the season opener last month was well and truly justified and the massed ranks of Mazdas put on an incredible spectacle for the Brands Hatch spectators. With the first rounds done and dusted, the Class of 2017’s next challenge is Lincolnshire’s ‘mini Nurburgring’.

They say absence makes the heart grow fonder, but in the case of returning champions Rob Boston and Luke Herbert it makes them faster! The former was a constant at the head of the pack and took two wins and a third place, while the latter managed a second place and two P4s, but despite this neither of them head the points table. Instead, that honour falls to Jack Harding who was on it from start to finish to clinch two hotly contested second places and a win for his troubles. This left him a single point ahead of Cadwell specialist Boston heading here this weekend, while Herbert is a further 10 back.

But what of those who were also strongly in contention? Tom Roche, or ‘Mr MX-5’ as he’s known, will be in top form after a successful weekend away racing in the high-profile Ginetta GT4 SuperCup. The Welshman was the other driver to pick up podiums with a brace of third places, and while successful many times in Mk1 MX-5s, a SuperCup crown has so far eluded him and he’ll be keen to right that wrong. Liam Murphy was another driver who was always a threat at Brands and put his new car to good use by never finishing lower than sixth, while other key names had to content with getting their elbows out to put one over their rivals.

Reigning champion James Blake-Baldwin couldn’t better a fifth place but stayed in the top 10 all weekend, with the likes of Brian Chandler, Jonathan Greensmith, Richard Styrin, Steve Roberts, Sam Tatler, Richard Wicklen and Mike Comber for company. All of the above put on an incredible display of battles throughout the meeting and all will be desperate to continue them on Cadwell’s narrow, undulating and twisting sequence of technical corners. Add in the likes of Ben Short, Adam Bessell, Nick Dunn and Jake Bailey into the mix and all in all it should be a fascinating spectacle. Bailey will make his first SuperCup start after debuting in the Mk1 Championship last season. Also making their first appearance of the year will be David Henderson, John Stack and George Grant whose Clapham North MoT concern is a major sponsor of the championship.

With entry levels at an all-time high, the split grid format for the SuperCup will be utilised again as it was at Brands Hatch. Those who did compete in Group B did had the chance to capture a small amount of glory as Jeremy Crook, Ben Short and Colin Bysouth all headed their respective races. There’s also the matter of a Masters championship to consider, an internal competition for drivers aged 45 and over that runs parallel to the main points table. After one weekend, it’s former three-time Porsche champion Richard Styrin that heads it from Simon Mason and Garry Townsend. Whether or not it will stay that way remains to be seen.

The response from Brands Hatch has been incredibly positive and interest levels are set to remain high as the season develops. This will be a return to Cadwell Park for the SuperCup after a one year hiatus. Although back in 2015, it got very frenetic to say the least. With a field as talented as the one we have in 2017, it’s going to be very, very busy on track come race time. Plus, watching the pack hop over The Mountain will be a sight to behold! 


1                    James Blake-Baldwin                                                                       

2                    Jonathan Greensmith                                                                       

3                    Liam Murphy                                                                       

8                    Andy Coombs                                                                       

9                    Alec Livesley                                                                       

11                  Nathan Bell                                                                       

14                  Jake Bailey                                                                       

15                  Richard Breland                                                                       

17                  Nicholas Dunn                                                                       

19                  Carl Garnett                                                                       

21                  Simon Fleet                                                                       

25                  Tom Roche                                                                       

26                  Duncan Harris                                                                       

27                  Jim Hart                                                                       

35                  Alex King                                                                       

36                  David Henderson                                                                       

41                  David Willoughby                                                                       

43                  Jack Harding                                                                                         

50                  Luke Herbert                                                                                         

52                  Steve Dolman                                                                       

56                  Steve Roberts                                                                       

58                  Mike Comber                                                                       

66                  Sam Tatler                                                     

67                  Simon Orange                                                                                                           

68                  Ben Short                                                                       

69                  George Grant                                                                       

76                  Richard Wicklen                                                                       

80                  Aidan Hills                                                                       

88                  Colin Bysouth                                                                       

92                  Rob Boston                                                                       

93                  John Stack                                                                       

99                  Richard Styrin                                                                       

176                Brian Chandler                                                                       

223                Garry Townsend      

Meeting timetable available to download HERE                                                                  



Next Race

Silverstone (International) - 21st - 22nd Mar 2020

Last Race

There have been no races in 2020 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2020 yet.